Skip to main content

12 More by Beck

Sometimes an artist just needs 12 more songs to summarize their career. Case in point...

Nearly 30 years into his career, Beck continues to be a chameleon, though I will say since 2008 he's pretty much made records that were stylistically consistent within themselves, if not with what came before and after. It seems to me he's due for another "anything goes" album like Odelay, Guero, and The Information.

You might want to check out the original 12 by Beck to relive the first part of his career.

1. "Think I'm In Love" (from The Information, 2006) 
Here's the culmination, a stylistically diverse Beck song with straight-forward lyrics. Strange how when you've made off-kilter your status quo, conventionality is it's own form of rebellion and innovation!

2. "Cellphone's Dead" (from The Information, 2006)
Beck in full hip-hop mode. Worth it just for the "one by one I'll knock ya out" sample.

3. "Profanity Prayers" (from Modern Guilt, 2008)
On the Danger Mouse-produced Modern Guilt, Beck experimented with guitar-based genres he hadn't explored before: blues, 1950s surf rock, and alternative. "Profanity Prayers," with its catchy distorted riff, falls most in the latter category.

4. "Heaven's Ladder" (from Song Reader, 2014)
In 2012 Beck released a book called Song Reader, containing sheet music for 20 new, unrecorded songs. In 2014, he released a compilation of artists such as Jeff Tweedy, Jason Isbell, Norah Jones, and Sparks doing their versions of the songs. He took on the countryish "Heaven's Ladder" himself. Lyrically, it's about religious doubt, which makes sense for someone who was raised both Scientologist and Jewish.

5. "Heart is a Drum" (from Morning Phase, 2014)
Morning Phase was a spiritual sequel to 2002's Sea Change, and shares that record's sense of hushed beauty and lyrics about heartbreak. You can tell he'd been listening to a lot of 1970s Laurel Canyon rock.

6. "Blue Moon" (from Morning Phase, 2014)
Some nice mandolin and ghostly vocalizing highlight this mournful anthem.

7. "Dear Life" (from Colors, 2017)
A song about riding out the hard times, featuring bouncy piano, spiky guitar, Beach Boys harmonies, and a clever inversion of the phrase "holding on for dear life."

8. "Up All Night" (from Colors, 2017)
Get thee to the dance floor!

9. "Dreams" (from Colors, 2017)
And then just stay right there.

10. "Super Cool" (from The Lego Movie 2, 2019)
Beck brings along Robyn and the Lonely Island for a fluffy bit of spun sugar.

11. "Uneventful Days" (from Hyperspace, 2019)
Beck teamed with Pharrell Williams on most of Hyperspace, but the results are not at all what you expect. Instead of being danceable, most of the songs are chill and moody, like this resigned break-up tune.

12. "Die Waiting" (from Hyperspace, 2019) 
Finally, a love song!


Popular posts from this blog

Big Bad Eddie (Is Sweet Edward Now)

I wasn't surprised this week when I heard the news that Eddie Van Halen had left our mortal realm. For one, 2020 has been such a parade of awful news that nothing terrible is shocking anymore. For another, I knew Eddie had been reckoning with cancer for a long time. And for yet another, we're all just visitors here, but Eddie was especially so. We were lucky to get him for as long as we did. * With the inordinate number of monumental musicians we've lost since David Bowie's death in January 2016, it feels like my music writing has been approximately 75% eulogies. These essays have developed a predictable formula wherein I detail my personal history with that person's music. I fear the familiarity of that risks diminishing their impact, so for Eddie I wanted to honor his sense of innovation with my own. But there's a reason that formula came about. Ever since I was a teenager, the primary goal of my writing has been discovery. In the process of writing, I learn w

REO Speedwagon: Nine Lives (1979)

Where We Left Off: With Kevin Cronin back on lead vocals and Bruce Hall replacing Gregg Philbin on bass, REO Speedwagon were finally building sales momentum with two successful albums in a row. * Nine Lives  was released in July of 1979. The title was likely a reference to the fact that it was the band's ninth album (if you include You Get What You Play For ), as well as the fact that they'd survived a level of turmoil that would have been the end of a band with less fortitude. There are also nine songs on the album. Perhaps the most interesting and puzzling thing about this record - both in sound and in presentation - is how much it represented a swerve away from You Can Tune a Piano... .  You'd think that having finally hit on a successful formula REO would want to repeat it. But on the whole the music on Nine Lives abandons the countryish pop rock of the previous record in favor of a faster, harder sound, way more "Ridin' the Storm Out" than "T

REO Speedwagon: Life As We Know It (1987)

Where We Left Off: Wheels Are Turnin' was REO Speedwagon's third consecutive multi-million selling album, producing the #1 hit "Can't Fight This Feeling." * Produced by the same team as Wheels Are Turnin' (Cronin, Richrath, Gratzer, and David DeVore), Life As We Know It was recorded while when Kevin Cronin was going through a divorce. He says making the album was a welcome distraction from his family falling apart. At the same time, his relationship with Gary Richrath was fraught with tension. That set of circumstances played a huge part in the album's lyrical content, and knowing the record was the last one for the band's classic line-up makes for an intriguing listen. For example, it's commonly held that "Too Many Girlfriends," a tune about someone running too hot for too long, is Cronin taking a shot at Richrath. This is most evident in the self-referencing line, "he better find the one / he's gonna take on the run